The Nice Guy

I met an ex-police officer today on Facebook chat and had a long conversation over my infamous blogging. He is of the view that I am a bit over the line in expressing myself on this blog, a view formed from the things people in police are talking of me. He thinks that by writing on my encounters with Mohamed Nasheed, I want to be seen as the “nice guy”. That may be one view and I respect anyone who has that view. There are rumors being spread inside MPS that I have campaigned for a candidate during election. Those are untrue and unfounded. I admit that I once had “I support Dr. Hassan Saeed” on my Facebook status and my belief is that it does not amount to campaigning. I am well aware of those who campaigned and how they did it. As far as the CHANGE is concerned, although I am not a big fan of the current president, I saw CHANGE as the solution for much of our problems from a professional police officer’s standpoint.

There are few officers who believe what I have written here (on this blog) will affect my career in the future and had advised me to be prepared for the consequences. They too believe I am the next Ahmed Faisal of MPS, for whom I have high regards for being one officer who stood up for what he believed in. Others went a step ahead to say that it was a mistake to further educate me on MPS’ expense. In spite of these negative views there were people supportive of me and my intent. They appreciated me for speaking my mind out and for being a transparent person. I have always been outspoken and transparent in my police career and people who know me better are testimony to this claim. This might be the reason why many of my colleagues do not approve of me and my concerns. I don’t believe in anonymity and I know of people who are cowardly enough to use this platform as a cover to express their views and concerns.

What I express here is truly intended for professionalizing my organization and my dear colleagues. I can’t help those who think I am too controversial. I have been there among you people since I was 18 and have experienced many things. Today, I hold a commissioned rank, am decorated with 6 ribbons, professionally and academically trained for the job; all achieved during the time of the outgoing government and Commissioner Adam Zahir. This does not mean I have to be ignorant on issues that I see are critical for the future of my organization and my people. It does not matter where my seniors assign me to work in or how they regard me; all that matters is how much I can contribute for the betterment of the organization. I will continue to serve my nation in the capacity of a police officer. Will join you soon!

4 responses to “The Nice Guy

  1. I tend to disagree with the opposing views. We need fresh ideas and thinking from our Police officers. Thought this is a bit controversial in the maldivian police, given that its a civil organisation it needs to shed its traditional limitations and restrictions.

    I believe officers like you could go a long way to enabling a bond of trust and understanding between the public and police. Just looking at most comments on your articles would act as evidence to this fact.

    I hope to see you continue in this path and pray that theres no negative effects to your career due to this blog. Wish to see officer such as you grow more common among our police force and to see a better and more efficient police organization in the near future.

    And btw it would be very helpful if you could give us a background on your new Commissioner of Police since he is a pretty new face to the public.

    Good luck, Sir

  2. Hello,

    Thanks for the comment.

    I have had the opportunity to work directly under the new CoP for some time. I am sure the government would have done a lot of thinking and research before appointing him. He is from a good academic background (Majeediyya and Royal Institute in Colombo), professionally trained at Singapore National Police Academy and the FBI National Academy. He is a very sportsperson, especially in basketball, volleyball and tennis. I am not sure of the length of his service tenure. My guess is he would have completed 19 or 20 years of service by now. All this puts him in a good position to lead MPS and I think with this new challenge, he would surpass his previous performances.

    I am hopeful that the new CoP work towards making MPS a well respected institution in the public eye by bringing in much needed changes. He would require all of MPS to back him to achieve it.

    There is a blog post by one of my colleagues about the new Commissioner

    http://thinkmaldives.wordpress.com/2008/11/19/new-commissioner-of-police/

  3. We need officers like you who are willing to engage with the public, and speak out for what you think is right both for your organisation as well as the country at large. The Police Service provides an important public good, yet much remains to be done in order to genuinely bridge the ever widening gap of mistrust between our men in uniform and the general public at large. This includes a recognition and determination to not overstep your professional competence like what happened on 7 February 2012. The basis of any democratic polity is how well we adhere to constitutional principles and there is no provision in the constitution for police to force the resignation of a president by mass disobedience.

Leave a Reply

